recipe : crackers

I have Mondays off. Recently I’ve been spending them doing research and writing for this blog. The other portion of the day is spent cleaning, facebooking, drinking copious amounts of coffee and tea, and eating. I love Mondays.

Today, while preparing lunch, I realized I still haven’t opened my latest gift from my mom: Kudzu Bakery Sweet Orange Marmalade – one of my favorite treats. I began fantasizing about pairing the marmalade with the Cherry Glen fresh fermented goat cheese (chevre) that I get at the farmer’s market where I work on Saturdays…what a dreamy duo!

the most delicious items in my kitchen right now

My delicious combo ended there, for I had, unfortunately, nothing upon which to place my concoction. No bread, no crackers…nothing.

My mood darkened as I sat numbly munching on my lunch of lima beans and onions as I watched the sweet dessert slip further away. Then, I had a realization: I could make my own damn crackers (I hoped!)!

I looked up a simple recipe online, modified it to fit my pantry and desires, and enjoyed immediate success. I am eating my dessert right now…and couldn’t wait to share.

learning something delicious everyday

Recipe : Simple Crackers [or, as I’m calling them, Ugly Crackers]

Ingredients:

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup cornmeal

3 tbl flax seed meal

salt

2 tbl butter

1 tbl oil

water

Do It!

not-too-sticky dough ball

Preheat oven to 400. My oven sucks so I put it on broil. Do what’s best based on the functionality of your oven.

Mix flour, cornmeal, and flax meal. Add salt [amount depends on your taste].

Add butter and oil and mix with a fork. The mixture will be really dry, but that’s OK [don’t panic].

Add water a teaspoon at a time, mixing with the fork, until the dough forms a ball.

The dough shouldn’t be too sticky.

the shape and size is up to you

Pull pieces off the ball and press flat [1/8 in. thick] onto parchment paper.

Bake for 15 or so minutes, until they aren’t burnt but are pretty crispy.

EAT ‘EM.

Finished product:

crispy little successes, all of 'em

I literally couldn’t wait.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

